Archive Years:
Archive website: Home Page
LWCC main website: Home Page

Archive Website - Club Trophies
Official Website for the Lewes Wanderers Cycling Club

This page gives you info on all 28 of our current trophies.

Our present-day Trophies by Michael Rabbetts - Newsletter December 1995 - Three of our present-day trophies belonged to the original Lewes Wanderers and were reclaimed by Des Terrill from a John Dunning, at Newhaven. They were the Pearce Cup (25 Championship), the Crisp Cup (100 Championship) and the Cinema De Luxe Cup (12 hour).

Dick Whittington visited Strudwick's bike shop in Brighton in September, 1950 and persuaded the owner to donate a trophy for our 50 mile championship (The Strudwick Cup); and Des Terrill's father handed over two of his boxing trophies which he'd won in 1926 - The Terrill Cup for the 25 handicap winner and a Terrill Cup for the Lewes-Newhaven event (now the Circuit of Laughton).

Des Terrill himself was working at the home of a Mrs. Kent in Seaford when he came across a big green and dirty cup, lying in a cupboard. It had belonged to Mrs. Kent's late husband, who had been an MP and yachting enthusiast. Mrs. Kent had the cup cleaned and engraved as the Kent Cup for Best All Rounder.

Kent Cup for Club Senior Best All Rounder

Kent Cup - Best All Rounder
The Trophies - LWCC Awards Evening - 19/11/16 - Photo: Lawrence Watts

Best All Rounder Trophies

Short Distance, Ladies, Junior, Senior & Vets BAR trophies

Dan Leaney Trophy
for Short Distance BAR

Secretary's Cup
for Ladies BAR

Junior BAR Cup

Kent Cup
for Senior Best All Rounder

Veterans' BAR Tankard

Mick Burgess Memorial Trophy
for The Points Competition

Rabbetts Family Trophy
for Middlemarkers Competition

Sylvia Burgess Shield
for The Classic League

Armstrong Dowling Trophy
for The Junior Classic League

Points Competition Trophies

Points, Middlemarkers, Classic League & Junior Classic League trophies

Single Distance Trophies

25, 30, 50, 100 & 12-Hour trophies

Pearce Cup
for 25 miles Champion

La Valletta Cup
for 30 miles Champion

Strudwick Cup
for 50 miles Champion

Chas D Crisp Cup
for 100 miles Champion

Cinema De Luxe Cup
for 12-Hour Champion

Evening Ten Trophy

The Richard Meed Hill Climb Cup

The Terrill Cup
for the Circuit of Laughton

The Circuit of Chailey Cup

Other Trophies

Ten Series, Evening Hill Climb, Circuit of Laughton & Circuit of Chailey trophies

25 mile Handicap, Evening Ten Series Handicap & Fastest 25 trophies

    Mr Terrill Cup
    for 25 miles Handicap

    Reg Eldridge Handicap Trophy
    for Evening Ten Handicap

    Fastest 25 mile Trophy

    Note: The Claret Jug was new for 2011 and replaced the Seymour Trophy, which was rather dated, a little the worse for wear and damaged.

J R Dawe Trophy
for our Track Champion

The Reg Porter Trophy

Track & Reg Porter trophies

Awards given out by the Club Committee

Zonca Bradshaw Trophy & The Merit Cup

Zonca Bradshaw Trophy
for effort & perseverance

Merit Cup
for tireless work for LWCC

Back to the top of the page - All content and design © Copyright 2017
This Website is produced and edited for LWCC by Chris Martin