Archive Years:
Archive website: Home Page
LWCC main website: Home Page

Archive Website - Our 2008 Winners
Official Website for the Lewes Wanderers Cycling Club

2008 Winners 2008 Magazines 2008 Press Releases Mick Burgess
Gallery 1 Gallery 2 Gallery 3

Senior BAR
50, 100 miles & 12 hours

Mike Levett
Average speed 20.543 mph

Short Distance BAR
10, 25 & 50 miles

Mark Winton
Average speed 27.250 mph

Vets BAR on Standard
25, 50 & 100 miles

Peter Baker +3.076 mph

Ladies BAR
10, 25 & 50 miles

Debbie Evers
Average speed 20.720 mph

Junior BAR
2 x 10 & 2 x 25 miles

Tom Baker
Average speed 20.316 mph

25 Mile Championship

1st Mark Winton - 58:03
2nd Andy Cox - 1:00:39

1st Hcp: Chris Martin
2nd Hcp: Bruce English

1st Vet: Ian Landless +11:37

30 Mile Championship

1st Andy Cox - 1:13:04
2nd Peter Baker - 1:14:27

1st Hcp: Oliver Tuckley
2nd Hcp: Peter Baker

1st Vet: Graham Jeffs +13:01

50 Mile Championship

1st Peter Baker - 2:05:41
2nd Andy Cox - 2:05:47

1st Hcp: Simon Yates
2nd Hcp: Johan Stegers

1st Vet: Graham Jeffs +24:55

100 Mile Championship

1st Mark Winton - 4:16:11

1st Hcp: Mark Winton

1st Vet: Peter Baker +23:58

12-Hour Championship

1st Mike Levett - 219.65 miles

1st Hcp: John Mankelow

1st Vet: John Mankelow +21.463 miles

Circuit of Laughton 11.88 miles

1st Andy Cox - 29:30
2nd Mark Winton - 29:58
3rd Roger Watts - 30:32

1st Hcp: Hugh Procter
2st Hcp: Chris Martin
3rd Hcp: Adam Monaghan

1st Vet: Graham Jeffs +3:32

Circuit of Danehill 18.11 miles

Cancelled due to road-works
on the course
Should be back in 2009

Circuit of Earwig 17.69 miles

1st Mark Winton - 40:08
2nd Andy Cox - 43:43
3rd Jamie Lowden - 43:47

1st Hcp: Natasha Fuller (L)
2nd Hcp: Mike Robbins
3rd Hcp: Jamie Lowden

1st Vet Graham Jeffs +8:08

Mike Levett during the Southern Counties CU 100 - Sunday the 27th July 2008 - Photo: Mike Anton

Mike Levett - Club Senior BAR

Circuit of Chailey 17.58 miles

1st Mark Winton - 45:46
2nd Andy Cox - 46:24
3rd Peter Baker - 46:42

1st Hcp: Alex Middleton (J)
2nd Hcp: Tom Baker (J)
3rd Hcp: Alan Stevens

1st Vet: Graham Jeffs +4:02

LWCC Hill Climbs

1st Peter Baker - 10:51.6
2st Jamie Lowden - 10:54.2

No Handicap Awards

1st Vet: Peter Baker

Evening Ten Series
11 events with fastest 6 to count

1st Mark Winton
Aggregate time: 2:11:46
Best time: 21:46
2nd Andy Cox
Aggregate time: 2:21:15
Best time: 23:20
3rd Peter Baker
Aggregate time: 2:25:39
Best time: 23:49

1st Hcp: Bob Evans
2nd Hcp: Stephen Gaston
3rd Hcp: Simon Yates

1st Vet: Ian Landless +35:53

Fixed Wheel Evening Ten

Oliver Tuckley - 24m41s

Evening Ten Tandem Event

No entries

Athletes Evening Ten

Alan LLoyd - 26:55 - 1st on adjusted time

Evening Ten Two-Up

Mark Winton & Andy Cox - 21:27

Classic League

Mark Winton with 86 points

Junior Classic League

Tom Baker with 8 points

Middlemarkers Competition

Jan Stegers with 113 points

Seymour Cup for fastest 25

Mark Winton with 53:50

Track Champion

Bruce English

Reg Porter Trophy

Stephen Burgess

Merit Cup

Ian and Julie Landless

Zonca Bradshaw Cup

Bruce English

2008 Records - Mark Winton set a new course record of 40:08 at The Circuit of Earwig on 28/06/08

Full list of our 2008 Winners - See our magazine No. 223 - November 2.89MB

Club Awards Dinner - Trophies, Plaques and Certificates were handed out at the Lewes Wanderers Cycling Club Annual Awards Presentation on Saturday 21st February 2009 at the Roebuck Inn, Laughton.

Rules & more info - All Club BAR counting events must be on Sussex courses with the exception that any 12 hour can be used for the Senior BAR. The Seymour Cup is for the fastest 25 on any course.

On club events with 1 to 7 entries, only the fastest rider and the first rider on handicap receive club medals. On events with 8 to 19 entries, the fastest two riders and the first two on handicap receive club medals. With 20 and over entries, the fastest three and the first three on handicap receive club medals. There is one Vets Standard award for each event. There is (currently) no award for the Evening Ten two-up.

2008 ESCA Reliability Trial Winners

A photo of 22 Wanderers taken after the ESCA Reliability Trial on 23rd November 2008. The club won the competition with 22 counters. On a truly horrendous day that started with snow, ice, cold and wind, with the snow being replaced by torrential rain, the Wanderer’s challengers were decimated.
Photo of 22 Wanderers taken after the ESCA Reliability Trial on 23rd Nov. For report see December (224) mag

Back to the top of the page - All content and design © Copyright 2017
This Website is produced and edited for LWCC by Chris Martin